Lyn Gala

One writer's journal through one version of reality

Headslapped by Royalties

3 Comments


Writing is like flailing in the dark and flinching when an invisible hand smacks you upside the back of the head.  It’s like being Tony DiNozzo, never knowing when Gibbs is sneaking up behind you.  Of course, sometimes a little smacking is a good thing.

The mail brought my royalty check today, and Out of Balance… a little book that came out six months ago and largely vanished… suddenly churned out triple-digit sales.  Um… what?

Now I am not complaining.  At all.  Nope, I will take that kind of surprise any day of the week and twice on Sunday. However, the business of writing annoys me endlessly.

I haven’t advertised this book, I can’t find any reviews, and no one has mentioned it randomly appearing on Barnes and Noble shelves near you. I know there was a convention recently in Albuquerque, so did someone make a display of “local authors”?  I don’t know.

I have no idea why this book suddenly “took off” any more than I know why other books haven’t.  I love Insistent Hunger with Paige, the cop who takes shit from no one, not even when her rookie partner shows up minus his heartbeat.  No one else loves that story like I do.

Sometimes I have a clue.  When Teddypig ripped on Gathering Storm, giving it one star and saying I’d broken faith with romance readers by failing to fulfill the requirements of a romance book, my sales skyrocketed. To be honest, he’s a little right.  That’s a suspense novel with two main characters who happen to get down and dirty. I’m tempted to send him a copy of my upcoming BDSM romance In the Weeds and pray he hates it just as much.

However, writing is a profession for people who like tightrope walking or maybe it’s more those who like long walks off short piers in rocky terrain.  You don’t know what’s coming. You don’t know what will take off like an out-of-control conflagration and what will fizzle away.

You definitely don’t know why you suddenly get a royalty check that actually looks like a paycheck.  Does anyone out there know why Out of Balance has suddenly found an audience? Anyone?  Anyone? Bueller?

 

Author: lyngala

Lyn Gala started writing in the back of her science notebook in third grade and hasn't stopped since. Westerns starring men with shady pasts gave way to science fiction with questionable protagonists which eventually gave in to any story with a morally ambiguous character. Even the purest heroes have pain and loss and darkness in their hearts, and that's where she likes to find her stories. Her characters seek to better themselves and find the happy ending (or happier anyway), but it's writing the struggle that inspires her muse. When she isn't writing, Lyn Gala teaches history part time in New Mexico and constantly prays for that one big breakout novel that will let her leave the classroom behind forever. She loves teaching, but she loves writing more.

3 thoughts on “Headslapped by Royalties

  1. That was an excellent post today. You make it look so easy. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day.

  2. I like what you write! You alqays give me great reading times.

Leave a Reply

