Lyn Gala

One writer's journal through one version of reality

Submissive Alpha Males… mmmmmm

2 Comments


Submissive Alpha Males.  Mmmmm.  I do love me some of that.

And I found some of that!

I wrote a few days ago about how disappointed I was with Joey Hill’s vampire queen books.  Jacob is an alpha male, but I never bought him as a submissive and the vampire queen annoyed me.  But I decided to give a different series a try because I’ll go a long way (and pay a good chunk of money) for a good piece of femdom.

Natural Law paid off in spades.  Mac Nighthorse is an alpha male, but unlike Jacob, he is a true submissive.  He may be a damn good cop, but that doesn’t keep him from enjoying being totally controlled by a strong woman.

Actually, Jacob and Tom from Blowback could throw back a few beers and enjoy talking about just how much they like having women take total control. They are both comfortable being strong, dominant men at work or in a fight, and then laying all that strength down at the feet of their women. I really loved that I could believe Mac’s submission here.

And there be plot.  Okay, so it’s not a lot of plot, and the motivations of the killer felt a little off, but I try to remind myself that not everyone has a degree in psychology or has taken criminology classes, so I’ll try to let that one slide, especially since I tend to exaggerate my villains myself.

I just enjoyed that there was actual plot that took up more than three sentences.  If I had to summarize the two vampire books, it would literally take me that long.  This book has interesting secondary characters and misdirection and plot.  I like Mac’s boss and coworkers, I believed the disdain his fellow detectives showed when they found their murder victims were submissive males (that’s not popular in American culture), and I liked Violet’s coworkers.  I can’t say I love the reveal of the murderer, and had a squicky moment there, but bad guys are supposed to be squicky.

But in the end, what I really loved is that I could see these two forming a united front against the world… not only the murderer, but the discrimination and the judgment of society.  They supported each other, and to me that’s the hottest kink in the world.  Bar none. So Emma, good recommendation.  I really enjoyed this one.

Now, that’s not to say the book is perfect.  Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever seen any domme dress up that much, so some of the descriptions felt a little like a tableau painted for a male eye. And it amazes me how many of these BDSM books features people with access to hundreds of thousands of dollars in equipment and gear. Again, I notice that fantasy element a little too much, and I like a slightly more mundane edge on my stories with people who do things I could imagine myself doing… and trust me, I do not have twenty thousand dollars to set up a dungeon.

However, this one is a keeper. In fact, I think I’ve invested about $32 in the three Hill books, and this one made up for that expense.

Author: lyngala

Lyn Gala started writing in the back of her science notebook in third grade and hasn't stopped since. Westerns starring men with shady pasts gave way to science fiction with questionable protagonists which eventually gave in to any story with a morally ambiguous character. Even the purest heroes have pain and loss and darkness in their hearts, and that's where she likes to find her stories. Her characters seek to better themselves and find the happy ending (or happier anyway), but it's writing the struggle that inspires her muse. When she isn't writing, Lyn Gala teaches history part time in New Mexico and constantly prays for that one big breakout novel that will let her leave the classroom behind forever. She loves teaching, but she loves writing more.

2 thoughts on “Submissive Alpha Males… mmmmmm

  1. I never heard of this series and I have a long list of books to read but will add it to my ever growing wish list on my nook. Thanks for the review!

    • I was disappointed in the vampire books, but I loved this one. I was actually a little shocked at how much Mac reminded me of Tom, although to be honest, Mac is a little smarter.

Leave a Reply

