Lyn Gala

One writer's journal through one version of reality

Coming Soon…

9 Comments


A touchy Dom who doesn’t know how to turn off his Domness.  An unsure sub who is drawn to something he doesn’t understand.  An old queen who has lost more people than she cares to remember, but who will kick the ass of anyone who has the nerve to give up on life or love.

Add in some family drama and a bar where the Old Guard Leather crowd runs up against the yuppie Safe-Sane-Consensual crew, and you get In the Weeds.

And boy do I hope that Dreamspinner changes that title.  Seriously, does that scream BDSM to absolutely anyone?  I officially suck at all titles.

Despite my inability to come up with titles, Dreamspinner picked up my latest novel and it will be available in both ebook and paperback sometime around next February.  Weeee! This one is heavy on the BDSM with more sex scenes than my usual, but it has a lot of plot as well.  That might explain how it ended up being 112K words.  Yep, this is my second longest title–right up there with Blowback.

Nothing matches the joy of knowing someone likes your work enough to publish it.  Yes, I love my flist and I love all the great feedback I got on this one, but Dreamspinner is putting their money where their mouth is, which implies that they *really* like it.  Well, that and getting a paycheck is mighty nice.

You see, as a writer, it’s so easy to think that every idea sucks.  Actually, I start every book thinking it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread.  About halfway through I start wondering what the hell I’m doing, and then I pretty much want to hide the whole draft on my hard drive and never let it out.

I have a lot of half-written ideas from the fanfic Happiness Curve (Part three of the Shaman Xander Learning Curve series) to the original Customary Miracles (A shy writer who has always fit in because he’s never really found himself meets a professor from India who has never fit in because he’s always known who he is).  If I had a fire and lost my harddrive and my back up at the same time, a few dozen novels would die a brutally quick death.

But selling a novel makes all the pain worth it.  I wrote something good.  I must have.  They’re paying for it.

Author: lyngala

Lyn Gala started writing in the back of her science notebook in third grade and hasn't stopped since. Westerns starring men with shady pasts gave way to science fiction with questionable protagonists which eventually gave in to any story with a morally ambiguous character. Even the purest heroes have pain and loss and darkness in their hearts, and that's where she likes to find her stories. Her characters seek to better themselves and find the happy ending (or happier anyway), but it's writing the struggle that inspires her muse. When she isn't writing, Lyn Gala teaches history part time in New Mexico and constantly prays for that one big breakout novel that will let her leave the classroom behind forever. She loves teaching, but she loves writing more.

9 thoughts on “Coming Soon…

  1. There is more Learning Curves? \o/. I vote this goes next in the to be completed while I think about something else file. And I will be stalking DS for In the Weeds.

    • There have been bits and pieces of Happiness Curve written for years. It’s a crossover with Law and Order SVU–it opens with a case of three nuns brutally murdered and drained. The SVU folks are talking fetishes and vampire wannabes when these odd people show up out of nowhere.

  2. I shall be watching out for this one.

  3. Congratulations. And I second the vote above. It would be lovely to read more in the Curve Verse. While I don’t really watch Law and Order SVU, the premise sounds tantalizing. But then I didn’t watch The Sentinel either and I really enjoyed that Crossover.

    On a sidenote: I started rereading Experience Curve on your website and there seems to be a problem. After chapter 7 everything is black. The text is still there. I can see it when I highlight it.
    It’s the same with Magical Cage. A part is visible, the rest ist black.

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I swear, I have redone that same page about three times, and it’s fine on my computer, but other people see the blacked out text. I may have to change the address and recopy from plain text. I appreciate you letting me know it’s still being a pain, though.

      • Lyn, I’m having that problem, too, but I think it’s browser related. What browser do you use? When I use Firefox, I have the blackout issue. The text is still there, but you can’t see it unless you highlight it. On Opera – no problems at all. I haven’t checked Chrome or IE, but I’ll bet it’s all about the browser.

        Anna

      • The weird thing is that I’m using Firefox and Chrome, and I can’t see the “blackout” in either of them.

      • Argh! I was so sure it had to be the browsers. I don’t know then, because I’m definitely having the problem with Firefox. 😦 And it’s perfect with Opera. That is really, really weird. *slumps*

Leave a Reply

