Lyn Gala

One writer's journal through one version of reality

Coming Soon

2 Comments


LG_Turbulence_coverlgI’ve never been the popular kid.

Nope.

I was the sort that embraced my unpopularity.  Part of that is that I show up on the autism scale.  I interact with people fine… assuming I have business with them.  Ask me to socialize, and I kind of suck.  I have a good friend who tends to interrupt me and say things like, “Smile and thank her, Lynsey.”

Oh.  Yeah.  Social niceties.

I don’t know how to take compliments well because I see all my own faults.  I am even less in tune with insults, and I’ve been told that it’s annoying that I don’t seem to know to get upset.  As far as I’m concerned, if an insult is true, it’s true.  If it’s not, it’s laughable.

I have embraced my inner Sheldon.

But the odd thing is that every time “Coming Soon” shows up with one of my books, I forget that I’m cool with all this.  If people don’t like me, fine.  If they don’t like Jacqs, it’s going to hurt and I know it.

This week leading into a new release is the hardest time for me as an author.  This is when I worry about whether the ending was good enough and how many grammar mistakes did I miss (because trust me, I miss ’em).  Turbulence comes out in less than a week, and this is the height of my utter misery.

I love writing.  Even when I’m not doing profic, I’m writing fanfic.  Writing allows me to unwind after a long day of dealing with people… and the day I went into admin was the day I frikkin’ lost my mind because I hate dealing with people.  I only need to get through seven more month and I can step back into the classroom.  Students never gave me the grief adults seem to.

But until that first good review comes in, I’m going to be miserable.

I tell myself that it’s stupid to get so emotional.  I tell myself that it doesn’t really matter.  I lie to myself until I’m blue in the face.

Sadly, it doesn’t work.  So I guess I’m settling in for a week of hitting refresh on the Loose Id website and Goodreads, a week of haunting the review sites and searching for my name as I pretend I don’t really care.

Author: lyngala

Lyn Gala started writing in the back of her science notebook in third grade and hasn't stopped since. Westerns starring men with shady pasts gave way to science fiction with questionable protagonists which eventually gave in to any story with a morally ambiguous character. Even the purest heroes have pain and loss and darkness in their hearts, and that's where she likes to find her stories. Her characters seek to better themselves and find the happy ending (or happier anyway), but it's writing the struggle that inspires her muse. When she isn't writing, Lyn Gala teaches history part time in New Mexico and constantly prays for that one big breakout novel that will let her leave the classroom behind forever. She loves teaching, but she loves writing more.

2 thoughts on “Coming Soon

  1. I’m positive its going to be epic! I absolutely love your work!

Leave a Reply

