Lyn Gala

One writer's journal through one version of reality

It shouldn’t work that way

3 Comments


Normally I’m not a great fan of het romance. Sure, the gender issues drive me nuts and the “little woman” needing rescue is a trope that should be relegated to the trash heap until it’s new and fresh again… which would be in two or three thousand years.

But as I pondered the last het romance that I read and really liked (C.L. Wilson’s The Winter King), I think I realized why I like that couple so much.

Oddly, it’s not the lack of weird gender insults. Yes, they’re equals. Wynter saves his little woman from monsters, but Kham rescues him from an army and a demon trying to take over his soul, so they’re even.

More than that, though, they have every reason to leave each other. Wynter has made things politically uncomfortable in his own castle by bringing home the headstrong Kham. If he let her leave, he would let a few of those raised eyebrows go back to their normal shape.

And Kham’s brother and nurse come for her. She could walk away. More than that, she could walk away and save her country by being part of the force to conquer Wynter instead of chasing any of this alliance stuff.

Logic said they should split apart.

I think that’s why I like them—because something is holding them together despite that, and that’s where I see all the smudgy fingerprints of love. I could never quite put my finger on why Tom and Da’shay from my own Blowback tripped my trigger so hard, but I think that’s it. They SHOULD break up. They don’t make sense together. So when they insist on holding on despite everything, I can see love winning against the odds.

 

So, do you have couples (het or gay) that you love that when you look at them, they should leave each other, but you know they’ll never, EVER make that decision?

Author: lyngala

Lyn Gala started writing in the back of her science notebook in third grade and hasn't stopped since. Westerns starring men with shady pasts gave way to science fiction with questionable protagonists which eventually gave in to any story with a morally ambiguous character. Even the purest heroes have pain and loss and darkness in their hearts, and that's where she likes to find her stories. Her characters seek to better themselves and find the happy ending (or happier anyway), but it's writing the struggle that inspires her muse. When she isn't writing, Lyn Gala teaches history part time in New Mexico and constantly prays for that one big breakout novel that will let her leave the classroom behind forever. She loves teaching, but she loves writing more.

3 thoughts on “It shouldn’t work that way

  1. Wow, this is a hard one. Though my first answer is Kate and Curran from the Kate Daniels series. I have that on my mind because I just read the latest one. They have nothing going for each other and everyone, literally everyone, sees it but them. But they sacrifice so much to be together despite that and this is part of the reason that series works for me.

    I have also come to think Ty and Zane from the Cut and Run series really shouldn’t be together either for various reasons.

    I have to agree Tom and Da’shay made an odd pairing and it took me a long time to see it because he hates her, she crazy, how can that work? But it does and it’s one of my favorite books you’ve done.

    • I don’t know the Kate Daniels series, but I now a lot of people love Ty and Zane. That as been on my “must read” list forever, but unfortunately, the “must read” list keeps getting pushed aside for the “must write” list. Maybe I should push Cut and Run up on the TBR pile because I do love a couple that shouldn’t fit (but does)

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed ‘The Winter King’ because I’ve been going back and forth on whether to buy it – I’m a fan of C L Wilson, I have most of her books, but the description of The Winter King on Amazon just didn’t sound that interesting. If you enjoyed it then it’s probably worth my giving it a go!

    (No answers are coming to mind re your question, I’m afraid!)

Leave a Reply

